Entering high school – timid, ill-equipped visually, and socioeconomically impoverished, I was destined for failure. Shy and alone, I found myself involved with numerous bad crowds and a never-ending sequence of less than ideal situations. With education on the back burner, I began my high school career with outstandingly abysmal grades and no motivation to better them, only an unfettered yearning for something meaningful, something within grasp, something great. Even with this omnipresent desire lurking behind every corner, I remained inundated by the temptations of the world, intimidated by the strenuous rigor of my school, and susceptible to my environment. This intimidation only served to further shift me from the rewarding path I would soon embark upon.

At the beginning of my sophomore year I was introduced to a gentleman who would instill his wisdom within me. Mr. Montelongo was, by no stretch of the imagination, a conventional teacher. Possessing the capacity to bring one to tears from a mere lesson over the fall of Rome, Monte stressed critical thinking skills and high level analysis –not only to think outside of the box, but to create your own box! Even though I did not, and still have not grasped the entirety of this concept, my limited understanding of it, however, did help me to evolve as a person and soon introduced me to my current passion.

At the dawn of my junior year, I attended yet another high school – David W. Carter. It would be here, under a rambunctious series of unforeseeable events that would ostensibly and coincidentally tilt me on my axis of self-proclaimed “success,” the axis I currently find myself in whirl of. In wind of this rotation, I floated across to room 321. In room 321, I was presented with an opportunity to fortuitously obtain something meaningful.

The Cowboy Chronicle. The publication I would soon become Editor-In-Chief over resided in room 321. Upon joining the student newspaper, I had a seemingly untapped potential in writing. Upon my arduous, persistent research and continuous learning, I found myself colliding with the missing piece: knowledge. With knowledge, my analytical abilities synthesized and my critical thinking skills improved dramatically. Soon I earned an English Honors award, collegiate credits through the Advanced Placement English Language and United States History exams, and a new title as President of the National English Honor Society. I am now fully encompassing and embracing something greater than myself.

