Recently, I had an interview for an internship with Oncor and they asked me a seemingly simple question that could not and would not and have not escaped this vastly digressive, analytical port of ostensibly inviolable and naive wonders I call my brain: As they asked this question, I was stomped for a brief millisecond at most. Then all of a sudden this meandering port of mine began to become overwhelmed with an almost inconceivable, uncontrollable amount of information that was nearly impossible to keep from all coming out at once. Due to the limited time of the interview, I had to terminate the automaton-esque nature of my port prematurely.

“What is respect?” They asked.

A broad question, I deem it a sensible reaction to be caught by surprise from it. Nevertheless, what was even more surprising was my response. Due to the grand coalescence of my thought process, my hands began to gesture nonsensically as my eyes flicker neverendingly while I tried to deter the interviewers from my rambunctious rambling of the matter. Then, as I should have seconds earlier, I took a deep breath, gave them a friendly (or sinisterly creepy and ambiguous) grin, gathered my thoughts, and delivered a ceremoniously satisfactorily, concise answer.

In the limited time allotted, I immediately started dissecting the nuance of the matter. I began by pointing out the invalidity in the perception that respect is something initially initiated on an individual to individual basis, rather that it is something that directly reflects the perception on or transparent treatment of or putatively inherent outlook towards those of the lowest socioeconomic class by those of the highest of the respective class system. Unfortunately for me, I was not able to articulate my perspective in such a way as I am now. However, in context of the situation and the general interview, I was able to relate the treatment of those in the highest authority in an institution or workplace to those in the lowest, pronouncing that there should be a leveled ground of prerequisite respect from both parties.

When I got to that point, and was able to explain it in a way that they fully and acutely understood, I, as mentioned before, had to stop myself early before indulging the lot of us in an infinity of hectic waves of blundering literalisms and hyperbolicisms unraveled by the eccentric splurging and sagacious amalgamation of this invincibly human brain of mine.

